Tennessee courts may order the destruction of your criminal record if you were acquitted or if the charges against you were dismissed. Tennessee permits individuals charged with crimes but not convicted to have the records expunged free of charge. The problem is many people believe their records are automatically expunged, unaware that they have to file a petition with the Criminal Court Clerk’s office.
Expungement is available in Tennessee for certain less-serious, non-violent offenses if you were not convicted of another offense and 5 years has elapsed since the completion of your sentence. Expungement is also available if you accepted first-offender deferred adjudication for a misdemeanor or a Class D felony. A Certificate of Employability may also be available.
Tennessee courts may order the destruction of your juvenile criminal record if you were not adjudicated or if the charges against you were dismissed.
Juvenile expungement is available in Tennessee after you are adjudicated once you are 18 or earlier after a 1 year waiting period with certain eligibility requirements.
If you are not eligible to have your Tennessee criminal record expunged, you still may be eligible for a pardon or other relief. The Tennessee Board of Probation and Parole receives, reviews, and makes non-binding recommendations to the Governor on pardon applications.