Non-conviction criminal records in North Carolina may be expunged only if you have no prior felony convictions.
You may qualify for an expungement if your North Carolina criminal record consists of a first-time, nonviolent misdemeanor or a low-level felony conviction committed more than 15 years ago without any subsequent offenses. First-time, nonviolent convictions and drug-related convictions occurring before ages 18 or 22, respectively, may be erased after shorter periods of good behavior. Certain deferred adjudications are also eligible.
If you have a juvenile criminal record and you were not adjudicated, North Carolina mayallow the expungement/sealing of those juvenile criminal records. The court may order the sealing of a juvenile court record.
First-time juvenile offenders who committed certain nonviolent felonies when under 18 may petition for expungement after 4 years. Misdemeanors committed under age 18 (except for traffic violations) and first offender alcohol-possession misdemeanors committed under age 21 are eligible for expungement 2 years after the date of conviction or after completion of any period of probation, whichever is later.
If you are not eligible to have your North Carolina criminal record expunged/sealed, you still may be eligible for a pardon or other relief.
The Constitution of North Carolina gives the Governor the power to grant reprieves, commutations, and pardons. Eligibility begins five years after completion of sentence.